The fourth chakra or heart chakra is the centre of the life’s energy, the prana. In Sanskrit it is called Anahata. In addition this chakra regulates the other 6, the 3 lower and the 3 higher chakras. Yoga helps you to balance the heart chakra.

The organs affected by the heart chakra are the heart, the thymus gland and the lungs. Besides the breast health in women is linked to this chakra as well. According to Swami Saradananda, the heart chakra manages the respiratory and circulatory systems. Some diseases such as asthma, bronchitis and lung cancer relate to the heart chakra energy.

Qualities and shadow

When the heart chakra is balanced you can be compassionate, forgiving, in service of others, you feel loved and you are love. As a result, you can detect these qualities in others quiet easily. Another quality is that you have a spiritual path. To the contrary, when this chakra is unbalanced, you can attach to others to feel alive and feel love. You feel apprehension that others won’t like you when doing things your way. Finally, you find it difficult to open your heart to others.

Yoga exercises to work on the heart chakra:

Ego Eradicator

Yoga Mudra

Prayer pose (Namaskar)

Camel pose (Ustrasana)

Bear Grip

Baby Pose

Bow Pose (Dhanruasana)

Wheel Pose (Chakrasana)

Pranayama (breathing exercises)

Practice yoga for the fourth chakra here. Yoga helps you to balance the heart chakra.

If you need support to work on the balance of the fourth chakra, you can book your 1 on 1 Yoga here.

Blogs of interest:

Breathwork for Healing – DayalYoga

Yoga helps to balance your Second Chakra – DayalYoga

Yoga helps to balance your third chakra – DayalYoga